Skip to main content

Rick Atkinson is the bestselling author of the Liberation Trilogy — An Army at Dawn, The Day of Battle, and The Guns at Last Light — as well The British Are Coming, which is the first of his highly anticipated Revolution Trilogy. Among many accolades, the book won the 2020 George Washington Prize for the year’s best work on our founding era.

Finding Common Threads in History

Read our conversation with Pulitzer Prize winner Rick Atkinson as he shifts gears to focus on the American Revolution.

Read the Interview

Revolution Trilogy

Rick Atkinson, best-selling author and winner of the Pulitzer Prize, explores the Revolutionary War in a new trilogy.

Learn More

Watch: David Rubenstein interviews Rick Atkinson

Pulitzer Prize-winning author Rick Atkinson discusses The British Are Coming, his first volume of the Revolution Trilogy, with patriotic philanthropist and noted interviewer David Rubenstein.


2020 George Washington Prize

On September 25, 2020, Washington College, The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, and George Washington's Mount Vernon announced Rick Atkinson as the winner of the 2020 George Washington Prize.