The Founders Committee is a volunteer support group comprised exclusively of women based in or nearby Washington, DC.

For the past three decades, they have developed and supported a wide range of projects, publications, programs, and events which further the objectives of the Mount Vernon estate to preserve Washington’s home and educate the public about the legacy and virtues of George Washington.


Committee Members


Mrs. I. Townsend Burden III


Mrs. Geoffrey B. Baker Mrs. Edmund Bartlett III Miss Edith H. Brewster
Mrs. Brice M. Clagett Mrs. James M. Costan Mrs. Eric P. Fraunfelter
Mrs. Joseph W. Henderson III Mrs. Oswald L. Johnston, Jr. Ms. Martha Dippell Korengold
Mrs. Charles G. Mackall, Jr. Mrs. Michael Miller Mrs. David B. Morgan
Mrs. Thomas E. Petri Mrs. Philip Winston Pillsbury, Jr. Mrs. John Daniel Reaves
Mrs. Robin D. Roberts Mrs. Christopher S. Sargent Ms. Catharine Trauernicht Scott
Mrs. George Y. Wheeler III Miss Eleonore Wotherspoon  

Founders Emeritae

Mrs. A. Smith Bowman Mrs. J. Woodward Redmond
Buy Tickets Shop
The Library Mount Vernon Inn Restaurant Donate Membership Calendar News E-Newsletter About

Open 365 Days A Year

3200 Mount Vernon Memorial Highway
Mount Vernon, Virginia 22121